Levi Schick (1855-1936) launched the Schick Opera House in this building on Oct.
11, 1909. A traveling opera company opened the facility with a performance of
"Little Dollie Dimples". Later attractions included vaudeville acts, musical programs,
and plays. The opera house also served as a showcase for local
talent and a site of public gatherings, such as graduation ceremonies. Known for
its fine acoustics, the auditorium seated about 900 persons. Schick Opera House
remained this area's cultural center
until about 1920, when competition from motion pictures caused its decline.
Opera House Historical Marker|
Photo courtesy Barclay
Gibson, July 2009