| There are no
directions for Acol since the "town" never stayed put long enough
to be added to a map. The name is an acronym for the Angelina County
Lumber Company and the "town" was a movable railroad post office
for the company's logging crews. As the timber was cut across East
Texas in the 1930s and 40s, the crews (and the post office) simply
moved to the next site - crossing county lines as if they didn't matter
(which they didn't).
Genealogists finding a postmark from Acol on family correspondence,
may be perplexed when they cannot find Acol, Texas on any map.
Germann Collection of Discontinued Texas Post Offices contains
two covers of this unique "place."
With names like Lindsey Springs, Fastrill and Alceda, they played
a supporting role in the development of Texas'
forest products industry between 1890 and 1940.
Today, they're little more than trails or clearings in the forest.
They were logging camps - the short lived and sometimes mobile communities
which supported the earliest East
Frequently called "front camps" because they were located
at the edge of a forest, the settlements usually lasted only as long
as the timber they cut. When a tract was exhausted, the camps -- housing,
stores, equipment, people -- were loaded onto railroad cars or trucks
and moved to another location....
Acol, a logging camp owned by Angelina County Lumber Company,
was moved on railroad cars so it could be moved from forest to forest.
The town later became famous in forest history for its "wandering
post office." ...
in its purpose to preserve historic, endangered and vanishing Texas,
asks that anyone wishing to share their local history and vintage/historic
photos, please contact